Harvey has been a director of fiction and factual films and television for more than 30 years. He holds dual Canadian and Irish citizenship and is able to travel and work on both a Canadian and an EU passport.

Most recently Harvey directed another pair of episodes of Murdoch Mysteries (“The Artful Detective” - U.S.), his ninth season directing the immensely popular national and international TV series. Following up on his two previous Hallmark movies - “Finding Christmas” and “On the Twelfth Day Of Christmas” - Harvey directed the movie “Sound of Christmas”, this time for Hallmark Movies & Mysteries. As successful as his other Hallmark movies, “Sound of Christmas” became the most watched original premiere ever in Hallmark Movies & Mysteries network history. He also directed a segment of the “We Are Canada” series in celebration of Canada’s 150th anniversary.

Harvey began his film and television career in Vancouver, Canada where he co-founded two production companies - Hy Perspectives Media Group and Siren Films. His production of the feature docudrama CLOSE TO HOME, about the continuum of sexual abuse, runaways and juvenile prostitution, became a nationally acclaimed MOW.

After the release of his Genie nominated feature film, THE BURNING SEASON, which he wrote and directed in Canada and India, Harvey moved to Toronto, Canada in 1993.

Harvey has directed nominated and award-winning episodic drama and family dramedy series, documentary and docudrama features and series for National Geographic, History, Discovery, CBC, CTV, CITY, Hallmark, A&E, PBS, BBC, ALIBI, W, ITV, Vision, Biography, TLC, Family Channel, Noggin, (add comma) Disney, Nickelodeon, Discovery Health, Fox Kids, Fox U.S., Fox Int'l, YTV, Canal Plus, Canal J, ZDF, France 3, ABC Australia and many more networks.

Shoots have taken Harvey across Canada, into the Arctic and around the world to Brazil, Thailand, Okinawa, South Africa, Japan, India, France, England, United States, Holland, Germany, Saudi Arabia, Ireland, Belgium, Turkey, Cuba, Hong Kong, Argentina, Russia, Estonia and Ukraine.